The Dimensional Double Ability
 

 

Drawing a Double:

At first level the character searches the infinite worlds and reaches out to their first double, who the controlling player constructs by generating an additional character sheet.

The character they create must share both the same race and age as the conduit and may not utilise any templates which suggest that they have a different lineage or bloodline to conduit. In essence the conduit and all her doubles must have been identical at the time of birth. Thus a conduit with a racial template (such as a half dragon) would also have this template active upon all their doubles. However, templates which may be applied to a creature after the time of birth (becoming a lich for example) could exist upon a conduit or a double without necessarily existing upon every double.

Each double may be formed as though they were a unique character in their own right - having ability scores, class levels (see below), feats, skill and other such factors which differ from the conduit.

Amidst the chaos and turmoil of the infinite dimensions only those with a clear focus towards a singular path draw the conduits attention. As a result a double may only possess class levels from a single class. However, they are permitted to diverge into, and gain levels within, a single prestige class (should they qualify). 

At later levels the conduit forges a link with additional doubles that will in turn require their own character sheets, following the above rules. The main class table shows the levels at which new doubles are gained. Once a conduit forges a link with a double their vision of similar doubles blurs and fades, making it impossible for any two doubles to share a level in the same class (or prestige class).

Though it may be possible for multiple conduits of the same entity to exist (indeed the nature of the infinite dimensions demands that there are indeed infinite conduits) no two conduits may link to one another. This means that none of a conduit’s doubles may possess any levels in this class.

As the conduit gains levels in this class their doubles may also increase in level. All of a conduits doubles are deemed to increase in level simultaneously. Doubles drawn into a dimension by a conduit often experience a fractured and disjointed life, which over time causes them to increase in level at a slower rate, as shown by the main class table.



Items and Class Abilities:

Though a double may own items, equipment or other assets within their home dimension, none of it travels with them into the conduits dimension. This includes spell books, spell components, holy symbols and other such items. A double instead takes possession of the conduits possessions when called upon and thus should only have these items reflected upon their respective character sheets.

Aspects of a doubles class which are not directly born from the double themselves cannot travel into the conduits dimension. This includes familiars, mounts and animal companions. However, a double may spend actions to summon objects or creatures once they arrive within the conduits dimension, provided they have time.



Replacing Existing Doubles:

At 6th, 12th and 18th level the conduit may gaze into eternity and there substitute one of their existing doubles for a replacement of identical level. The replacement double is created just like any other double and may use the same classes and prestige classes the substituted double used.



Calling Forth a Double:

The conduit may, as a full round action, activate one of their doubles. Immediately after performing this action the chosen double replaces the conduit and adopts the exact same body position the conduit previously held. The double then immediately performs their turn’s actions (as directed by the conduit) before being replaced by the conduit. The conduit may then perform any other actions, if they are able, before ending their turn and allowing the initiative order to proceed as normal.

Essentially the conduit spends a full round action to substitute these actions for a full turn of actions as their chosen double. It’s important to note that the conduit still both initiates and concludes their turn so the double is therefore never in play beyond this brief period of time.

A double enters play wearing or holding all of the conduits items, including any restraints (such as manacles). Doubles with aspects of their character that differ from the conduit (such as their alignment) may find that items respond differently when in their possession. 

Activating a double draws no attacks of opportunity.

When a double enters play it should be regarded as an entirely separate creature, who does not share any bonuses or penalties affecting the conduit that preceded them. They may however emerge in any number of situations which would affect a creature freshly introduced to the field, including finding themselves in the midst of a grapple or an environment which requires them to make a saving throw.

A double is not able to perform any actions in their home dimension which will benefit them in the conduits dimension, including casting spells to bolster their defences before they arrive. Such effects are stripped away by the powerful rifts through which the double is drawn.

Any affects (positive or otherwise) which exist upon the conduit remain unaffected by the emergence of a double. These affects therefore re-enter play - with the conduit - upon the conclusion of the doubles actions.



Playing as a Double:

As soon as a double enters play they may perform a full range of actions as though their turn had just begun. However, the double cannot sustain its presence within the conduits dimension for long and therefore must return to its home dimension at the end of their turn - thus any actions they attempt to perform which extend beyond this period will immediately fail.

The doubles fleeting existence within the conduits home dimension may not be extended by any means. Any attempts to grant then further actions (even through the manipulation of time) immediately fail.

At the end of the doubles turn they are immediately swapped for the conduit, who returns to exactly the same location and holds exactly the same body position as the double they are replacing. This dimensional swap is instantaneous and draws no attacks of opportunity. The conduit may then perform any other actions, if they are able, before ending their turn and allowing the initiative order to proceed as normal.

Essentially the conduit spends a full round action to substitute these actions for a full turn of actions as their chosen double. It’s important to note that the conduit still both initiates and concludes their turn so the double is therefore never in play beyond this brief period of time.



Doubles and Spells (and Psionics):

A double does not draw their magical energy from the conduits dimension or from the manifestation they temporarily hold within that realm. Instead a double draws such powers from their own dimension and thus finds expressing it within the conduits realm much more challenging. As a result a double may never cast a spell of greater than 7th level.

Furthermore the conduit must act as a gateway between their spell casting doubles and the dimension from which they are attempting to draw such power. As a result a conduit may only allow their doubles to cast a certain number of spells of each level per day as shown on the table below:

Spells per Day
Level|.0.|1st|2nd|3rd|4th|5th6th7th

1st|2|1|-|-|-|-|-|-
2nd|3|2|-|-|-|-|-|-
3rd|3|3|-|-|-|-|-|-
4th|4|4|1|-|-|-|-|-
5th|4|5|2|-|-|-|-|-
6th|4|6|3|-|-|-|-|-
7th|4|6|4|1|-|-|-|-
8th|5|6|5|2|-|-|-|-
9th|5|6|6|3|-|-|-|-
10th|5|6|6|4|1|-|-|-
11th|5|6|6|5|2|-|-|-
12th|5|6|6|6|3|-|-|-
13th|5|6|6|6|4|1|-|-
14th|5|6|6|6|5|2|-|-
15th|5|6|6|6|6|3|-|-
16th|6|6|6|6|6|4|1|-
17th|6|6|6|6|6|5|2|-
18th|6|6|6|6|6|6|3|-
19th|6|6|6|6|6|6|4|1
20th|6|6|6|6|6|6|5|2

In effect each time a double uses a spell they are in fact utilising a spell slot provided by the conduit as well as one of their own.

If a double possesses the Versatile Spellcaster ability they may use this ability as though the conduits remaining spells per day allowance were their own. For example they may use 2 of the conduits 1st level slots to fuel a 2nd level spell.

The manifestation of a psionic power is deemed equivalent to the casting of a spell of the same level and, as a result, similarly uses up an available spell slot.



Doubles vs Incoming Damage and Other Effects:

If a doubles sustains 1 or more hit points of damage whilst within the conduits dimension their turn ends immediately, causing the conduit to return and replace them (as described above). All but 1 point of this damage is then inflicted upon the conduit upon their return. 

A double who sustains damage may not be called into action again for the rest of the encounter or for a period of 1 minute (whichever is occurs first).

A double may never ever exist within the conduits dimension for a period which extends beyond their allotted time and will immediately shift back to their own dimension if incapacitated or hindered in a way which would cause them to do so. Such a double may not be called into action again for the rest of the encounter or for a period of 1 minute (whichever is occurs first).

All effects (for good or ill) which were active upon the double whilst within the conduits dimension are automatically cancelled when they return to their home dimension. The double immediately reverts back to their previous state before they travelled to the conduits. Even doubles slain within the conduits dimension are return to their home alive. However, doubles do feel pain and can therefore be as emotionally affected as any other creature when placed in a traumatic situation.



Doubles as a Disguise:

Though both the double and the conduit were born genetically identical an entire life time of experiences can lead them to appear quite different, the amount by which they differ physically can therefore vary wildly. Generally speaking a double who has different strength, constitution or dexterity scores from the conduit will likely hold a noticeably different yet still vaguely similar appearance. Other aspects, such as the application of a lich template to a double can produce far more obvious physical differences to the conduit.

If a double retains some similarity to the conduit they may attempt a disguise check to fool onlookers into thinking they are in fact the conduit. Those who appear almost identical receive a +10 bonus to such disguise checks whilst those whom only appear vaguely similar only receive a +4 bonus. 



Doubles outside of an encounter:

A double may be drawn into the world beyond the confines of an encounter, however their existence within the conduits dimension is so fleeting that they struggle at times to influence the world. As a result they are not able to utilise their skills on any task which requires more than a few seconds to perform. The sudden impact of crossing the dimensional boundary confounds any attempt to combine their skills with the conduit or another doubles actions.

Even though a double may be repetitively drawn into the world by a conduit they experience a disjointed existence, as a result they may not perform any physical demanding of intricate actions effectively across this prolonged period of time (such as crafting an item, manipulating a lock). The constant fluttering in an out of the conduits dimension also confounds any attempts at prolonged awareness by a double, its therefore the conduit and not an active double who performs spot and listen checks.

None physical actions, such as speaking are unrestricted by the constant dimensional crossovers and as a result a double may communicate and share their knowledge with other creatures. However, as their knowledge is based off dimensions which differ from the conduits these knowledge checks are performed at a penalty, as shown below:

  • If the doubles dimension is near identical to the conduits: -1
  • If the doubles dimension is similar to the conduits: -2
  • If the doubles dimension is quite different to the conduits: -4
  • If the doubles dimension is alien to the conduits: -8


Ultimately a double may only be drawn into the world outside of an encounter to perform any action they would be able to achieve within a few seconds. This includes casting spells and using psionic powers.